top of page

Open House & Other Excitement


These little RC boats ventured out for a little bit before it got too rough

The Open house was a thoroughly exciting day. From determined rain storms in the morning to increasingly blustery winds as the day progressed, it just didn't seem like the sort of day to convince new boaters that sailing can be fun.

And yet, despite the rain and wind, the event was quite well attended! I'm not sure of the numbers, but several people mentioned that more than expected had signed up as members and/or enrolled in the sailing school - a great success.

My favorite personal moments were a small child's comment, moments after we had grounded my little boat in a gust of wind, and then motored out of trouble... "I'm brave because I'm Five!" followed by, as soon as the rain stopped, "this is delightful!" As well as a small boy who climbed aboard my boat and asked what almost everything did, followed by "can we do that now?"

I was quite worried that our little brush with the gravel in front of our neighbouring clubhouse would frighten the first child and her dad off, but instead, they both seemed quite content to keep sailing inside the breakwater for a few more tacks. Of course, her enthusiasm may have had something to do with a birthday party she didn't want to go to somewhat later in the day.

Unfortunately, by the time the very inquisitive little boy climbed aboard, the wind had built to a point where I wasn't comfortable taking the boat out with inexperienced crew even inside the breakwater. He didn't seem to mind too much, however, especially when he got to wind up the keel, start the motor (with a tiny bit of help) and see the jib unfurled.

Meanwhile, every other day I manage to get out after work lately, the weather is amazing. One particularly nice evening I had the chance to watch the end of another club's race, which was quite a lot of fun. I realized, halfway out, that I was going to have to fight them all to get back into the harbour before dark, and promptly turned around. One boat, blaring music, was nice enough to wait for me to sail back in. I suppose I COULD have used the motor, but it's so much nicer to sail in!

sails on the horizon


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page