top of page

repairs & crutches!

Finally, after trying and failing to find a time that worked for both of us, I've managed to get the boat over to the marina to have the stuck lock pin drilled out and the cable inspected. I had to reinstall the companionway board before finishing it with teak oil so that the keel could be lifted, but with any luck, by the time the work is done, it will be nice enough to do the remaining work on the boat instead of at home!

Meanwhile, after joining the (not so) secret Toronto trading group, bunz, I have aquired not one, but TWO new ABC fire extinguishers - for 6 TTC tokens! Score!

Next on my list is lights, and a sail seems to be on the horizon as well...now to think if we want a turtle pattern.....

I've also decided to fill the sunken holes in the companionway board and redrill them - water will pool in them otherwise, and that is SURE to annoy me, as well as being not so great for the wood.

I had previously thought up a plan for a mast crutch, but have hit some supply issues at my local home depot for appropriately sized PVC tubes....am looking into using two sizes of aluminum pole to create a telescoping crutch to assist in single handed stepping of the mast.... but am now considering building some sort of gin pole setup instead. It would be simpler. This blog suggests using the boom, but as the mainsail is rather difficult to remove from my boom, I might opt for just an extra pole.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page